Back on the Map

Greetings from Savannah, Georgia!

My last correspondence came from 35,000 feet somewhere over the Pacific Ocean on my way to Manila, the capital of the Philippines. That was last October and I was in the midst of transitioning between jobs, learning things about myself, and satisfying a thirst for exploration.

Since then, I’ve moved across the country, co-authored a New York Times best-selling book, and started a new engineering job in Savannah. While I’ve been writing quite a bit, few words have landed on this blog, and I wish that wasn’t so. But isn’t that what happens? A bright-eyed and seemingly enlightened person takes to the pixels of internet blogging with a message to share only to burn out a couple months later, distracted by other endeavors or simply bored with the lack of engagement. When life piles on challenges, my writing, my health, my fitness routines, etc. are some of the first things to go. I was no exception to the rule. However, I didn’t forget how much I enjoyed writing, share ideas, and especially far away friends and family in the loop.

IMG_20170610_210347
Savannah’s beautiful Forsyth Park fountain attracts visitors from around the world all year long.

Thankfully, I haven’t stopped churning ideas through my mind. Reflecting on my time abroad, sending letters to people I rarely see, discovering a new and exciting professional role, growing my concern for community, financial literacy, and celebrating my place and obligation in the socio-economic hierarchy. If these ideas all sounds disconnected, they aren’t. Aside from spinning my mental hard drive in time of stillness, they are all elements of my essential life. The things that I originally started this blog to discuss. It was an earnest goal to share my thoughts with the world, and hopefully learn something through my writing. In all honesty, these thoughts push and pull me against culture in an effort to sculpt my own sense of purpose.

Per a recommendation from my co-worker, I recently read William Damon’s Path to Purpose: How Young People Find Their Calling in Life. I found his writing to be clear, concise, and easy to understand–probably one of my favorite books in the past few years (check out my Resources page for more books I enjoy). He left the esoteric bullshit at the door and wrote something in which someone holding a middle school education could appreciate and apply (with their children). His text centered around 12-26 year olds and their understanding and execution of a life purpose.

IMG_20170704_202205
I spent the Fourth of July in Denver, and this sunset over Sloan Lake was a cherry on top.

He took into account their desire to live, benevolence, quest for something beyond self, communal nature, and overall vivacity. While this greatly simplifies what young people need to think about in order to craft their own purpose, his book paints vivid and clear stories which helped me examine my own life. Am I a dreamer, a dabbler? In what areas am I clear, certain? Where do I feel unconstrained? What got me to where I am today? Where am I going? Answering some of these questions are as old as life itself, and ones without a definite answer, of course. However, I think the greatest tragedy is to stop asking them, no matter what stage in life I find myself. Where I am, or what I’m currently exchanging my time and energy to do.

After 6 months of transition, book writing, and postponement, I’m undertaking new and exciting initiatives in my life which will be shared in the many months to come. I have projects to catch up on, such as revamping my photography website and sharing my thoughts on the Philippines. I’m working toward improving my physical fitness this summer, traversing Iceland’s Ring Road, and refining my dietary habits. I’m in a safe and creative space, well on my way to these goals and more. I look forward to sharing thoughts about Savannah with you and continuing to grow in many ways. Glad to be writing again; glad to be back on the map.

Share your thoughts

